Captain John Rose Awarded Merchant Navy Medal


By MarEx 2015-12-21 21:56:22

Captain John Rose, Director (Maritime) CHIRP, was amongst this year’s recipients of the U.K. Merchant Navy Medal.

The Confidential Hazardous Incident Reporting Programme (CHIRP) aims to seek out root causes for near misses, identify the lessons learned and to consider how best this information can be used to prevent reoccurrence elsewhere in the maritime industry. CHIRP does not seek to apportion blame to any company or individual.
Rose received the award for mentoring services to Trinity House Yeomen and his CHIRP work into the detection of hazardous incidents at sea. Rose has 45 years of maritime experience to draw on in these roles.

Other award winners included:

J.S. Agnew, Bosun, Stena Icemax (Stena Drilling Ltd) for services to the Merchant Navy and to the RMT Union in Scotland.

N.D. Atkinson, Principal Surveyor and Technical Performance Manager, Maritime and Coastguard Agency for services to the International Maritime Labour Convention and to the Southern Port Welfare Committee.

Captain T.J. Bailey, FNI, Master, Hebridean Princess (Hebridean Island Cruises) for services to safety on high-speed catamaran ferries and to the Nautical Institute.

Captain N.A. Barningham, Master, Anvil Point (Foreland Shipping) for the rescue of 150 refugees from a vessel in distress, in force 8 conditions, Mediterranean Sea off Malta, 28th to 30th November, 2014.

E.J.N. Brookes TD, for services to the UK Chamber of Shipping and to the Merchant Navy Ratings' Pension Fund. (Honoris Causa)

Captain C. Chandler, Consultant, Company of Watermen and Lightermen of the River Thames for services to Merchant Navy training and to the Maritime Skills Alliance.

Captain P. Compton, Master, Pelican (Adventure Sail Ltd) for services to youth sail training and to the Weymouth branch of the Merchant Navy Association.

Sister Marian Davey, Port Chaplain for Apostleship of the Sea East Anglian Ports, for services to merchant seafarers and their dependents. (Honoris Causa)

G.C. Evans, Technician, Ships' Electronic Services Birkenhead for services to the certification of Electro-Technical Officers and to the maritime heritage on Merseyside.

Commodore I. Gibb, MBE for services to the cruise line sector and to the Royal Alfred Seafarers' Society and the Mission to Seafarers.

C. Macdonald, Coxwain, Solent Towage Ltd. for the rescue of crew member trapped in capsized tug Asterix off Fawley Refinery, Southampton Water, March 30, 2015. (Act of Courage Afloat)

J.R. Matthews, lately Head, Fleetwood Nautical Campus, Blackpool and Fylde College for services to maritime training and to the safety of life at sea.

A.J. McPhail, RD, VR, RNR, lately Director, Thomas Miller and Co. Ltd., for services to international maritime law. (Honoris Causa)

Captain D.J. Ridgway, lately Chief Executive Officer, BP Shipping for services to tanker safety and to seafarer’s welfare.

Captain R. Settle, RFA for services to the Royal Fleet Auxiliary Association and to Nautilus International.

Captain J.P. Thompson, OBE, AFNI, RFA (Retd), Deputy Chairman, Royal Fleet Auxiliary Association for services to the welfare of seafarers.

A.J. Tinker, Steward, Pride of Burgundy (P&O Ferries Dover) for services to the Channel Ferries sector and to the Dover and Deal Unit of the Sea Cadet Corps.

P. Wright, FNI, lately Principal Lecturer, Centre for International Shipping and Logistics, University of Plymouth for services to maritime training and to the Nautical Institute.