Finalists Announced For Ship Efficiency Awards 2014

By The Maritime Executive 2014-09-05 15:45:00

 Fathom have announced the finalists for the inaugural Ship Efficiency Awards 2014.  The award winners will be presented at a ceremony hosted by Lloyd’s Register on the 2nd October 2014 in London, as part of Ship Efficiency: The Event, held in association with Inmarsat.

The Ship Efficiency Awards were launched by Fathom to recognise and celebrate the organisations, individuals and initiatives within the maritime sector that are driving fresh thinking around efficiency, catalysing technological innovation and successfully making waves within the industry through efficient operations. 

Fathom received an overwhelming number of nominations for this year’s inaugural awards, a demonstration in itself of the immense efforts being undertaken to improve efficiency across the industry. 

The awards were independently judged by a panel of high profile industry experts including Peter Hinchliffe, International Chamber of Shipping; Craig Eason, Lloyd’s List; Lars Robert Pedersen, BIMCO; Jan de Kat, ABS; Minas Miliaras, RCL Cruises Ltd and Martin Stopford, Clarksons Research.

Alison Jarabo, Director, Fathom said, “We have been overwhelmed by the number of high calibre nominations we have received for the inaugural awards. It highlights the enthusiasm of an industry looking to prove its commitment to efficient operations and improved corporate social responsibility.”

Finalists will vie for contention across six award categories: the Energy Efficiency Solution Award; the Environmental Technology Award; the Initiative of the Year; Sustainable Ship Operator of the Year; The One to Watch and the Outstanding Contribution to Ship Efficiency award.

The full awards shortlisted nominations are:

Energy Efficiency Solution Award

DeltaMarin – B. DELTA Energy Efficient Cargo Vessel Designs
Eniram – Optimum Speed Assistant (OSA)
VAF Instruments BV – PEM3 Efficiency Monitoring Solution
Wärtsilä – 46DF Engine

Environmental Technology Award

GAC – HullWiper ROV
Hempel AS – Hempaguard
International Paint – Intersleek 1100SR
Micanti BV – Thorn-D
Terragon – Micro Auto Gasification System (MAGS)

Initiative of the Year

Corvus & Scandlines – Scandlines Hybrid Ferries
Eco Marine Power – Blue Star Delos Renewable Energy Innovation Project
Green Marine – Environmental Certification Program
Jotun – Hull Performance Solutions
Low Carbon Shipping – Low Carbon Shipping – A Systems Approach

Sustainable Ship Operator of the Year

CSL Group
Laurin Maritime
Maersk Line
Shell Shipping & Maritime

The One to Watch

B9 Shipping
Eco Marine Power – Aquarius MRE System Project
Marstal Navigationsskole & Partners – Green Ferry Vision
Monalisa 2.0 – Sea Traffic Management
Wärtsilä – LNGPac

Outstanding Contribution to Ship Efficiency

Anne-Marie Warris - EcoReflect
Tristan Smith - UCL
Alastair Fischbacher – SSI
Oskar Levander – Rolls Royce
Operational & Environmental Performance Department - ABS

The Outstanding Contribution to Ship Efficiency award will give the industry the opportunity to vote for the finalists within the category based on the depth of their achievements and commitment towards an improved maritime industry. Vote for your winner now at www.fathomshippingevents.com/finalists

For further information about the Ship Efficiency Awards 2014, to vote or register your attendance please visit https://www.fathomshippingevents.com/ship-efficiency-the-awards.html

The products and services herein described in this press release are not endorsed by The Maritime Executive.